Forward to Advent

“A voice cries, ‘Prepare in the desert a way for Yahweh. Make a straight highway for our God across the wastelands.'” – Isa 40:3

Christmas is coming :D I don’t really know what’s there to be excited about; I only know that I am excited. Expectant joy – to wait upon the Lord. It strikes me that this advent joy – the joy of waiting – should be alive in every season. After all, Advent is a parallel of waiting upon the Second Coming.

It’s ironic that today’s homily was about the linearity of the church’s conception of time, when we are about to go back to the start of the liturgical year. The church’s calendar is circular; yet, her conception of time is linear. Then again, being circular and linear is not inconsistent, is it? You just need to add an extra dimension – then you get a spiral :D Then you realize – it’s by going round and round that you go up.

It mirrors life (read enough Jodi Picoult and you’ll find that you can analogize anything~). Almost exactly a year ago, I blogged about Advent and my excitement about Christmas too, and not knowing what cause I had for that excitement. So in writing this post, I’ve come full circle. But I’m not really at the same point that I was last year. I’ve grown. I no longer doubt that it is God’s grace that is working for this joy to arise.

On an unrelated note, reading Jodi Picoult’s ‘Sing You Home’ really hammers in the idea that stories have genders. Notwithstanding the fact that the story is about lesbianism (IVF, custody of embryos and evangelicalism too), I don’t think I’ve ever read a more feminine story before.

Christmas is coming :D

“To make a holiday is, ultimately, to make a holy day.” – Fr RR

Leave a Reply

About Mel

I dreamt I was a whale. https://melvynfoo.wordpress.com/about-mel/