Unbelief

Sometimes when I read a book, and often when I watch a movie, I enter into the Zone. It’s sometimes an escape, sometimes a temptation, sometimes even an addiction. More often than not, it’s simply a refuge – from introspection, from amputated emotions, from shackled dreams. It’s the experience of being so absorbed as to be able to not think of multiple levels. To be able to feel without self-critique. To be able to fantasize without restraint. It’s just the incredulity of Being. It’s an existential joy.

To Gaiman, Rowling, Tolkien, Herbert, Eddings, Moore, Miller, Nolan, Cameron and so many more – I owe them. So much of me is built upon the stories told by people I have never met and known. What a powerful thing it is to tell stories. What a humbling thing it is to tell stories.

“Fairy Tales are more than true; not because they tell us that dragons exist, but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten.” – GK Chesterton

P.S. Incidentally, this is why it absolutely pisses me off when people distract me during a movie. It’s rare enough that I’m having an experience that I can operate on a single plane of consciousness. I’m quite ok when I’m reading cos I hardly ever expect to read finish a book in a single sitting so I’m used to stopping and starting again. But ugh for movies~ I’ll just snap. Getit posef? Ok. Side-angsty rant over.

Leave a Reply

About Mel

I dreamt I was a whale. https://melvynfoo.wordpress.com/about-mel/