13: City

For I will be a wall of fire around [Jerusalem], says the Lord, and I will be the glory within it. 

– Zechariah 2:5

I imagine a Shining City – of towers and spires and obelisks and domes. Some are made from marble, others ivory. Some have roofs of pure gold and some have silver windowpanes. They all reflect a certain pristine quality. The glamor of it all makes the City seem a little unreal.

Then there’s the Wall of Fire. There are some who would say the flames cast a glow that further illuminates grandeur of the City. Others say that the shifting tongues of fire gives the City its gravitas. I would simply say that the fire sears.

Leave a Reply

About Mel

I dreamt I was a whale. https://melvynfoo.wordpress.com/about-mel/