18: Undone

Then said I, Woe is me! for I am undone; because I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips: for mine eyes have seen the King, Jehovah of hosts.

– Isaiah 6:5 (American Standard Version)

Writing the last post was great fun. I expected a lot of comments on my fb post. I didn’t expect a 20x jump in my viewership ._. It’s the highest daily view I’ve ever had by far. And it puts a lot of pressure on this next post. But I am determined not to pander; after all, this is for Lent.

I went for a run just now. One of the songs on my playlist was ‘Here in your Presence’. It’s a wonderful song to run to. The night breeze, the exertions, the sensations, the liberation – they all course through you and you think to yourself: in His presence indeed. This is all very subjective of course. I have no illusions about my running – there is nothing divine about it. My running is cui.

But there’s something very powerful about the word undone. It’s the idea of stripping away the masks, unravelling the plans, throwing down the baggage. It’s about nakedness, rawness and bareness. It’s about undoing everything about the Self so there is nothing left but the Other. And when all the false conceptions of the Self fall away, we are at our most humble because there is no longer any Self to be proud about. Then only can we be remade because we have been unmade. Then only can we be made whole because we are empty and broken. Then only can we throw our selfs into the eternity of the ultimate Other.

And when we do that, when we embrace that Other as our Self, we arrive at that most lofty and unreachable of ideals – we arrive at our True Self. Right there, before our God, as we truly are, we can be are One with Him.

Here in your Presence,
We are undone; 
Here in your Presence,
Heaven and Earth become one. 

One thought on “18: Undone

  1. Pingback: Fantasia | Mel

Leave a Reply

About Mel

I dreamt I was a whale. https://melvynfoo.wordpress.com/about-mel/