37: 6AM morning

Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
and do not rely on your own insight.

– Proverbs 3:5

It’s been a while since I did a 6am (to follow my mum to school). My entire body was protesting when I woke up. Ah.

I don’t really know what to make out of the verse (that Jes suggested). “Trust in the Lord” implies knowing what He tells us, which goes into the realm of discernment, which is, at best, complicated, and at worst, subjective. So I don’t know how we can “not rely on [our] own insight”. Ignatians say “consolation”; Dominicans say “prudence”. Regardless, discernment is so personalized! We’re trying to get some sense of the objective through our personal faculties.

The alternative sources of knowledge are: Scripture, Tradition, and the Magisterium. Hardly useful for deciding whether I should go to this JC (not that I actually made a choice), study that course or join this community.

So. Maybe the verse is not telling us to be impersonal about making decisions. I think of it more as infusing our insight with prayer, and drawing our insights through prayer. Then we can trust in Him by relying on our insights. Then we can rely on our insights by trusting in Him.

I’m just writing this as it comes~

Leave a Reply

About Mel

I dreamt I was a whale. https://melvynfoo.wordpress.com/about-mel/