And. Again.

So I opened IVLE and saw the document ‘Instructions for Mini-Moot Scenarios’ uploaded in ICA folder.

You will be required to make oral submissions at a mini-moot to be held in class on a date to be fixed and notified to you. Supporting written submissions will also be required which are due no later than 12 noon on the Monday of the week of your mini-moot. A soft copy of your submissions must be deposited into IVLE no later than this time, and a hard copy handed to the Tribunal on the day of your moot.

I agree with my brother – they were being sarcastic when they called the ICA moots ‘mini’. 4000 word written co-subs and 1.5h oral subs for 4 mooters. That’s almost as much substance as ILP moots la wth.

Anyway, El mentioned something once: that we can’t possibly anticipate every question. All we can do is reach a point when we know our case well enough. And when we reach that point, though we may still get unanticipated questions, we have enough on-hand to arrive at the right answers in that moment.

Maybe that idea is applicable to life in general. We can’t prepare for every possibility. But maybe we can reach a point where we know ourselves and know God well enough, so that when life throws us a curveball, we can still do God’s will.

I sometimes say that I find God in writing because there are just times when I look back on what I’ve written and I think to myself: that wasn’t me. I hope I can find God in mooting too. I hope I can look back on what I’ve said and think to myself: that wasn’t me.

That’d be nice.

“Who gives speech to mortals? Who makes them mute or deaf, seeing or blind? Is it not I, the Lord? Now go, and I will be with your mouth and teach you what you are to speak.” – Ex 4:11-12

Leave a Reply

About Mel

I dreamt I was a whale. https://melvynfoo.wordpress.com/about-mel/