Guarding the Guardians

So it’s Sunday night. Less than two days before my 8-cred Evidence paper, my LSC interview, and my Switzerland trip. I have not completed preparations for any of them. And I’ve just watched Rise of the Guardians – a movie about childhood: wonder, hope, memories, dreams and fun.

So actually, it is totally apt that I’m ditching carefulness for carefreeness.

And after watching the movie, I had a mini vocational crisis. (Even I laughed to myself when I typed that out.)

It was my kind of movie. Jack Frost is lanky and powerful. North has teleporting snowglobes. E. Aster is voiced by Hugh Jackman. Toothiana guards memories. And Sandy is #omgsandman.

WOO SANDMAN <;3

RotG struck something deep. I felt an afterglow after the movie reached its end, that I’ve never felt the likes of since HTTYD. It reminded of so many things I hold dear to myself; things that were so hidden by the responsibilities of leadership, the pressures of performing, the worldliness of legality. I never realized that I had drawn a veil of prosaic concerns over those things; a veil that might have become irreversibly opaque if not for wakeup calls like these.

So basking in the afterglow, I thought to myself: Yes, this is who I want to be. This is who I’ve always wanted to be. This is what I want to do. To keep the dream and the wonder alive – for me and for others.

And then, I thought about my LSC interview: I’m gonna be sending people to prison for the next three years.

So much for innocence.

Beloved, we are God’s children now; what we will be has not yet been revealed. What we do know is this: when he is revealed, we will be like him, for we will see him as he is.

– 1 Jn 3:2

El was right (as always).

Only if it is Your will, ok?

3 thoughts on “Guarding the Guardians

Leave a Reply

About Mel

I dreamt I was a whale. https://melvynfoo.wordpress.com/about-mel/