Switzerland 4: Arty, Alive & Atas Zurich

We reached Zurich on Friday night. This place is apparently so hip that we couldn’t find any restaurant with empty space for dinner. So we ended up eating at Starbucks. Which was actually pretty good lol.

IMG_1264

I woke up in the morning to frazzled hair. The vain part of me said that I needed to cut my hair. The tourist part of me said I should take a picture. So I did both in the end. Not at the same time of course.

IMG_1271

We then set out to explore Zurich’s sights and sounds. One of the first streets we stop at is Spiegel-Gasse. It’s apparently where the birth of Dadaism took place O.o Hence, the pictures.

IMG_1293 IMG_1291 IMG_1292

More strolling and trolling. Be yourself. Ha. Ha. I took out my pen and notebook just to pose with that plaque. Be myself indeed. I’m a tourist who writes. I’m a writer who tours. No, actually, I’m just being pretentious.

IMG_1277 IMG_1281 IMG_1295

We also went to see the Grossmunster Church whose “twin towers are the true hallmark of Zurich.” It’s an Evangelical Protestant Church, that has weirdly varied stained glass windows and rather pagan armchairs.

IMG_1300 IMG_1298 IMG_1296

Then, we stopped by the Girthaus Museum. Now, this was nice. I seldom go to art museums, so this was really quite pleasant. I think I quite enjoy going to art museums. I think mum does too! At least, she seemed rather enthralled while she was listening to her audio guide. We spent almost 3h here.

Now comes the atas part. We checked out Cafe Sprungli, a luxury chocolatier that reminds me of Willy Wonka. And the crazily high-end Bahnofstrasse a.k.a. most exclusive shopping street in the world. And also a very random ‘Free Palestine’ signboard in the middle of nowhere ._.

IMG_1341 IMG_1346 IMG_1344

And we ended the day in church. Confession was held in the crypt. Which is not really that creepy after all. Though it did have a cool winding staircase to the main church. There was a sadly small crowd for evening mass. Sighs. Maybe turnout is better for Sunday masses #whoamikidding

IMG_1352 IMG_1355

And with that, the sojourn (this word has become too loaded with meaning) holiday in Switzerland is over!

Let it snow :D

Let it snow :D

Leave a Reply

About Mel

I dreamt I was a whale. https://melvynfoo.wordpress.com/about-mel/