Colour & Cafe, Modules & Movie

“Clothes make the man.” – Mark Twain

So when I left the house today in a tie-dye T-shirt that Jes made for me, I knew that today would be quite colourful.

Actually, the excitement started before I had even changed into the T-shirt.

I woke up in the morning to a nagging feeling that I had yet to complete my module registration (Drop for CORS phase). But the deadline was 5pm. So I was tempted to go back to sleep. The paranoid part of me remembered vaguely that the deadline might actually be 10am. I fumbled for my phone to check the time. My phone was dead. But my curtains were closed; the day didn’t seem to bright; I hardly wake up after 10am. I was even more tempted to go back to sleep. The paranoid part of me nagged annoyingly.

I dragged myself out of bed to my laptop. Omg it’s 10.37am. OMG the deadline is 10am. OH MY GAWD I missed the deadline. OH MY GAWD I WAS SUPPOSED TO HELP SOO ALSO.

It’s not often that the paranoid part of me is right.

So that was how the morning went. After some panicking, quick emails, calls and pitiful pleas, they relented and allowed us to drop the modules we wanted to drop. Thank God.

I spent the afternoon in L’etoile Cafe. Upon stepping onto the second floor of the cafe, I was quite instantly infatuated with the place. I ordered a $6 iced chocolate and a $12 truffle fries. The huge pile justified the price. The productivity made it a steal.

20130725-003618.jpg

I left quite early for Confession, Mass and Ado at SPP. (Have I mentioned that SPP’s ado room is one of my favourites? I might actually prefer it to SFX or CSC.)

Then I went to watch Pacific Rim. It’s surprisingly decent. The way they advertised it made me think that the only selling point would be the fight scenes and CGI. But there’s actually some drama; it was not completely superficial.

More notably, I watched it on my own. The stars pretty much aligned. I was free. I had forgotten what it’s like to watch a movie on my own. I wanted to spend the whole day by myself. I had one free movie voucher. I wanted to watch Pacific Rim.

And I was wearing a tie-dye shirt.

That’s probably the tipping point – wearing it gave me the courage to watch the movie on my own. (Go do the psychoanalysis yourself.)

And that’s pretty much all to the day. It was a good day.

“Tomorrow may be hell, but today was a good writing day, and on the good writing days nothing else matters.” – Neil Gaiman

Leave a Reply

About Mel

I dreamt I was a whale. https://melvynfoo.wordpress.com/about-mel/