US 4-5: City of Angels

Los Angeles is a lot more city than it is angel. The two days we spent here was not exactly ecstatic, but we definitely got a good feel of LA. Which is really what travel is for. Dad probably still thinks we should have gone to Six Flags or Universal Studios.

LA did not begin very well. I woke up in the morning with a sore throat, which totally sucked. Since then, I have been surviving on a cocktail of Redoxon, Panaflu and strange Chinese drinks. Dad also kicked up a fuss because he was kept awake by footstep sounds above our room throughout the night (so he claims), so we packed all our stuff again and shifted to the highest floor.

We finally stepped out around 10am. Our first stop was the Venice Boardwalk, where all things hip and exotic are found.

"What we find exotic abroad may be what we hunger for in vain at home."

“What we find exotic abroad may be what we hunger for in vain at home.”

We spent the rest of a day in Getty Museum, world renown for its architecture and art collection, a fact that I had to go great lengths to convince Dad of to explain why I preferred visiting a museum over taking a 3D Transformers Ride. I would have happily gone to Six Flags with friends, but with parents… nah.

“Wa you really quite arty one hor?”

Yes, Dad. I’m so glad you finally realised.

We came back to an early night of Chinese dinner, which hugely improved Dad’s mood, and X-factor. If there is one thing Dad and I can agree on to some extent, it is music. So bitching about the contestants was mildly reconciliatory.

We began the next day with getting lost shopping for Dad’s golf rangefinder. I was actually not all that disgruntled because we drove through Beverley Hills while finding our way around. Plus I got to read in the golf shop.

IMG_2838

And to conclude our trip, we city-explored by walking the streets of Downtown LA. Which included visiting the Central Library and shopping at Macy’s.

I can now declare that I have been to America. #achievementunlocked

Leave a Reply

About Mel

I dreamt I was a whale. https://melvynfoo.wordpress.com/about-mel/