Inchristus

Out of the depths that cover me
Black as the pit from pole to pole
I pray that Christ my savior be
To save from fire my sinful soul

In the fell clutch of circumstance
At the cross my head is bowed
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My prayer is patient and unproud

Torn is this veil of wrath and tears
Now hope has risen from the dead
And so the toiling of the years
Finds, and shall find, my joy unstayed

To seek life through the narrow gate
Inscribe my name on Peter’s scroll
I’ll trust my Lord God with my fate
I’ll find His peace within my soul

 

Leave a Reply

About Mel

I dreamt I was a whale. https://melvynfoo.wordpress.com/about-mel/